Making a difference… and in good company

Sebuah surat yang ditulis oleh seorang remaja autis

Dear Teacher: A Letter From H

Sometimes I make mistakes…

I need you to help me…

Sometimes I hear everything at once… and a lot of noise is overwhelming

When I listen to music I hear everything at once… that is great for listening to music – but it can be hard in a classroom.

Hearing everything in the classroom means that: Sometimes I could hear everyone in the class breathing and it went over the sound of the teacher speaking

This makes me anxious…

I need you to understand that this doesn’t mean I wasn’t listening… or that I was misbehaving.

I need you to encourage me to stick with it… this gives me the message that I can do it and that you believe in me.

Your actions give me messages that teach me about resilience

I need you to notice the little things I do right instead of the little things I do wrong

His message was powerful: I am a kid right now… but someday I will be a grown-up

Please help me build understanding in our world…

via Making a difference… and in good company.

Leave a Reply

